VIRAL THEATRES

Post/pandemisches Theater und Performance im Zeichen des Anthropozän

Wie verändern sich Bühne, Publikum, künstlerisches Schaffen und Öffentlichkeit, wenn Theater durch die Pandemie zum Ort zwischen Stillstand und Entgrenzung wird?

Viral Theatres untersucht die Enstehung neuer Theaterrealitäten. Dabei geht es um die Auseinandersetzung mit dem beispiellosen Bruch in Produktion, Präsenz und Erlebnis von kulturellem Schaffen, der durch die Kombination aus Theaterschließungen und Migration ins Digitale entsteht. Was passiert mit Verkörperung und Teilhabe in der gegenwärtigen Situation? Welche Chancen und Herausforderungen entstehen? In unserem angewandt-künstlerischen Forschungsprojekt kommen Künstler*innen und Forscher*innen zusammen, um ein Living Archive der Pandemie entstehen zu lassen und mit neuen Wegen des Spielens, Erlebens und Dokumentierens zu experimentieren.

UNSERE FORSCHUNGSAKTIVITÄTEN

Hier ein kurzer Überblick über unsere verschiedenen Aktivitäten.

FORSCHUNGSRESIDENZEN

In einer Reihe von Forschungsresidenzen begleiten wir digitale Initiativen und künstlerische Projekte von freien Künstler*innen und an Berliner Theatern.

VERANSTALTUNGEN

In einer Reihe von praktischen Workshops mit internationalen Gastkünstler*innen experimentieren wir mit den performativen Möglichkeiten digitaler Technologien für unser Living Archive. Außerdem freuen wir uns, teil der 25sten jährlichen Digital Research in the Humanities and Arts-Konferenz zu sein, die im September 2021 in Berlin stattfindet. Mehr Informationen zur DRHA 2021 hier.

DIALOGE

In einer Podcast -Serie und einem regulären Blog setzen wir uns mit lokalen und internationalen Entwicklungen im Theater während und nach der Pandemie auseinander.

LIVING ARCHIVE

Wir stellen unsere Forschungs- und künstlerische Arbeit innerhalb eines Living Archive online und als Performance Installation mit Symposium am Tieranatomischen Theater Berlin im Dezember 2021 vor.

Dieses künstlerisch-wissenschaftliche Projekt project ist assoziiert mit dem Exzellenz Cluster EXC Temporal Communities: Doing Literature in a Global Perspective (Freie Universität Berlin) und kooperiert mit EXC Matters of Activity: Image – Space -Material (Humboldt Universität Berlin) und Bard College Berlin.

VIRAL THEATRES

POST/PANDEMIC PERFORMANCE IN THE ANTHROPOCENE

Stages, audiences, artistic practices, the public sphere itself: how do they become transformed when theatre in the pandemic turns into a space of standstill or disruption?

Viral Theatres is a practice-based research project that documents the emergence of new realities for and in theatre and performance practice. We explore the novel split in how we produce, make present and experience cultural production that is shaped by a combination of theatre closures and a migration into the digital sphere. What happens to embodied exchange, collaboration and liveness in this current context? In our applied research project, artists and scholars come together to build a “living archive” of the pandemic and to experiment with gaming, narrating and experiencing performance in an expanded digital or hybrid sphere.

OUR RESEARCH ACTIVITIES

Here you can find an overview of our research activities and events.

RESIDENCIES

In a series of research residencies we document new digital projects and initiatives at various Berlin Theatres hands on. Participating institutions include: The Junges DT, the Berliner Ensemble, the Schaubühne; and the Hebbel-am-Ufer Theatre.

DIGITAL LIVENESS- WORKSHOPS

We are setting up a series of workshops with guest artists to explore the nature of digital liveness in a lab context. The lab will take place from June 30- July 3, 2021 and will combine Zoom workshop discussion sessions with practical lab work. We are also excited to participate in the 25th annual Digital Research in the Humanities Conference, which will be held in Berlin in September 2021. More info on DRHA 2021 here.

DIALOGUES

In a series of podcasts and blogs we explore the local and international effects of the pandemic on artists, audiences, theatre critics, and scholars.

LIVING ARCHIVE

Research and artistic interventions will combine to create an online dictionary of digital performance practices in a Living Archive that will be launched online and be displayed in a final performance installation & symposium in Berlin in December 2021.

This practice-based research project is based at the Excellence Cluster EXC Temporal Communities: Doing Literature in a Global Perspective (Freie Universität Berlin) and cooperates with EXC Matters of Activity: Image – Space -Material (Humboldt University Berlin) and Bard College Berlin.